East London Runners logo

London Marathon

London Marathon 2022 - Club Rules/Criteria for Guaranteed Places

TCS London Marathon Sunday 2nd October 2022

The ballot of the club place for the 2022 TCS London Marathon will take place on Wednesday 18th May 2022. As with all clubs, ELR has been allocated fewer places this year than usual, due to the ongoing impact of the 2020 marathon cancellation. This year, we have been allocated one club place.

ELR Ballot Rules:

1. The ballot will be open to Members where East London Runners is their First Claim Club.

The date of First Claim will be when a new member joins the club and can be freely registered by us with England Athletics (EA). Where a new member is already registered with EA with another Club or organisation then the date of First Claim will be the date when EA confirms to us that they have transferred their registration to ELR.

The following criteria apply to the Club Ballot:

2. Fully paid up First Claim member by 1st April 2020, paid/renewed their Membership for 2021/22 on or before 30th June 2021, and paid/renewed their Membership for 2022/23 prior to the ballot.

3. Applied in the public ballot and was rejected by LM for October 2022.

4. Can provide proof to the Club of being rejected by LM 2022. Proof by way of rejection slip/letter or email from London Marathon. Please forward your rejection email to info@eastlondonrunners.org.uk. Rejection letters can be handed to Mike, Jacob or Alexandra at the Club. Note a rejection magazine or copy of same is insufficient proof.

5. Members who have been successful and have not passed the place back to the Club through injury or other reason or who have subsequently received a place as a Reserve in the previous year Club Ballot will not be eligible for entry in the following yearly ballot.

In the unlikely situation where not all places are taken up by other eligible Club Members any spare places could then be balloted among the previous year successful members if they meet all the other rules/criteria. This rule is to apply to those successful in the ballot for LM2022 and for future London Marathons.

6. Member to advise Mike Wilson, Jacob Stevens or Alexandra Rutishauser-Perera that they wish to be in the ballot and provide proof of rejection on or before 23:59 on Sunday 15th May 2022.

7. Members who qualify for Good for Age and Championship places in the London Marathon are ineligible for our Ballot as they must apply under these categories.

8. The draw will take place on Wednesday 18th May at 6.50pm at Eton Manor RFC, prior to the club run. Two names will be drawn: the first member will be allocated the place in the 2022 London Marathon; the second will be a reserve in case the first member withdraws.

RESULTS of the Club Ballot of Guaranteed Places for 2020 (Now deferred to 2021, 2022 or 2023)

Guaranteed Places

1. John Henry (Reserve for Bernadette Kalmar)
2. Ashley Faria
3. Joanna Neville
4. James Nicholls
5. Edward Barnard
6. Jonathan Wooldridge (Reserve for Manjit Singh)
7. Peter Hatley
8. Ged Browne
9. Jay Sangha
10. Suzanne Taylor
11. Neil Gage