East London Runners logo

Cross Country

2019/20 - Sunday Cross Country League Dates for your Diaries for the Winter Season 2019/20

Sunday 20th October 2019
Event 1 Broxbourne Park, Cheshunt
- Hosted jointly by Broxbourne Runners and Garden City Runners. 11am start.

Sunday 1st December 2019
Event 2 Trent Park, Cockfosters
- Hosted by Trent Park RC. 10.30am start.

Sunday 22nd December 2019
Event 3 Fairland Valley Park
- Hosted by Fairlands Valley Spartans. 10.30am start.

Sunday 12th January 2020
Event 4 Cassiobury Park, Watford
- Hosted by Watford Joggers and supported by Ealing Eagles. 10.30am start.

Sunday 16th February 2020
Event 5 Royston - Hosted by Royston Runner
- 10.30am start. The date is provisional and subject to confirmation.

Mike Wilson
Winter Leagues Captain

Sunday 10th February 2019 - Cross Country League Race 5 of 5 - Therfield Heath, Royston

Sunday Cross Country League Fixture 5 - 10th February 2019.
10.30am Start.

Meet at Wanstead Leisure Centre at 8.40am (8.45am departure) for car share to Baldock Road, Therfield Heath, Royston SG8 5BJ.

All club members are welcome to run in this last fixture of the season. It is free and you just have to turn up on the day to run.

Information supplied by the host club - www.roystonrunners.co.uk
The course is approx 5.5 miles. There will be one small lap and two large laps. The course is mostly across open downland and is very hilly. It is suitable for spikes, studs or trail shoes.

Race HQ: ​Heath Sports Club.
Baldock Road,
(a close post code is SG8 5BJ – the one on the Heath club’s website is actually for a nearby golf club).

Parking – due to several sporting fixtures being hosted on the Heath we advise that you arrive early as parking will be at a premium and we would ask runners to car share where possible.

Please follow the instructions of the parking marshals.

Train – from King’s Cross via Stevenage to Royston station. The Heath is 15 minutes walk from the station – please check Sunday service carefully before leaving as there is engineering work on race day. This means most trains will start from Finsbury Park.

Facilities - there will be portaloos onsite for runners to use. Please use these rather than the toilets in the Heath sports club as they struggle to cope when used by large numbers of people.

Refreshments and bar available.

Please can all runners be aware that rugby matches and training sessions will be taking place in the area between the race start/finish and the Heath bar. Please avoid walking through this area and disrupting the training sessions.

Please note that all muddy footwear must be removed before entering the sports centre, especially spikes. Please help us to maintain good relations with the sports club by adhering to this request!

We look forward to a big turnout from ELR to end the Sunday League season.

Mike and Paul

Sunday 13th January 2019 - Cross Country League Race 4 of 5 - Cassiobury Park, Watford

ELR CLUB MEMBERS - lease add your name to the Race Entries page of this Website if you are keen to represent ELR ! If you are going and can offer or need a lift, please meet at Wanstead Leisure centre at 8.45am.

Distance - 5.9 miles approx

The surface varies between grass, trail and mud, plus a short section of tarmac over the canal bridge.

Temporary toilets will be provided close to the start and there are also toilets at the new Cassiobury Hub, near to the Langley Way entrance. We are asked NOT to use those in the Cha Cafe, which are for cafe customers only.

There's only a tiny car park in Cassiobury Park but you can park in the surrounding streets (Watford FC aren't playing at home). There's also the car park at the Met Line tube station (WD18 7LE - 70 spaces at £1.70) plus various town centre car parks, the closest probably being the one at the Town Hall (WD17 3EX).

Saturday 5th January 2019 - Essex Senior XC Championships - Writtle

Saturday 5th January 2019 - Essex Senior XC Championships - Writtle - Both women & men will race approx. 10K - www.essexroadrunning.org.uk

Race H/Q - Race H/Q - Writtle University College, Lordship Rd, Writtle, Chelmsford CM1 3RR


11.15am - Senior Women - 10k
12.15pm - Senior Men - 10k

Cross Country (Inc Chingford League) 2018/19 - EAST LONDON RUNNERS

East London Runners supports the running of equal distance for Men and Women in all Cross Country Races. While some races/Leagues/Counties/Nations/Vets have equalised distances some have not, as yet, done so.

East London Runners also respects the right of each individual Club Member to decide for themselves what races they wish to run in and we will NOT obstruct in any way a member running in a race or League that does not have equal distances.

It remains the Club policy that all members will run for FREE in Cross Country Leagues that the Club are members of (e.g Chingford League and the Run Herts Sunday XC League) and the County/Regional/National races whether of equal distance or not. The Club does pay League fees on members behalf in addition to any fees for entering our County, Regional and National Championships.

The views of members expressed on Facebook and other types of Social Media are considered to be of a personal nature and may differ from those of the Club expressed above.

Sunday Cross Country League - 2018/19 Fixture List

b>Sunday 28th October 2018 - Race 1 : Cheshunt/Broxbourne 11am start

Sunday 2nd December 2018 - Race 2 : Trent Park - 10.30am.

Sunday 16th December 2018 - Race 3 : Fairlands Valley Park, Stevenage 10.30am

Sunday 13th January 2019 - Race 4 : Cassiobury Park,Watford -10.30am -

Sunday 10th February 2019 - Race 5 (Final event) Royston - 10.30am.

Sunday 25th February 2018 - Cross-country is the new battleground as women step up bid for equality - by Nick Hoult


February 2018 - THomas Grimes wins the Overall Title in the Sunday League!

Cross Country Captain Mike Wilson reports

With the Cross Country season drawing to a close, I would like to congratulate Thomas Grimes who was crowned overall winner of the Sunday League title. He achieved this with a top five finish at the final fixture at Royston. This is a great achievement with record attendances of over 500 runners at some of the races. I am pleased with the turnout from the club in both Leagues, with numbers increasing from last year. We had 10 enjoyable races in total on on a variation of surfaces and conditions, appealing to novices and experienced athletes alike.

In the Chingford League we had a record 54 runners compete on a cold autumn evening at Hog Hill in October. The ladies and men's 'A' teams finished 4th and 5th in this League respectively.

I would like to thank everyone who took part in 2017/18 and look forward to welcoming new and old members again, when the season starts again in October.

Gender Equality in Cross Country Running - January 2018

East London Runners supports the movement to bring about Gender Equality in Cross Country Running at all ages and levels.

We also recognise and respect the rights of Individual Club Members to choose to run in cross country races that do not currently have gender equality.